Council

Minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday, 19 May 2021

Present:

The Right Worshipful, the Lord Mayor Councillor T Judge – in the Chair

Councillors:

Abdullatif, Akbar, Azra Ali, Ahmed Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Andrews, Appleby, Baker-Smith, Bano, Battle, Bayunu, Bridges, Butt, Chambers, Clay, Cooley, Connolly, Craig, Curley, M Dar, Y Dar, Davies, Doswell, Douglas, Evans, Farrell, Flanagan, Foley, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hilal, Hitchen, Holt, Hughes, Hussain, Hutchinson, Igbon, Ilyas, Jeavons, Johns, S Judge, Kamal, Karney, Kirkpatrick, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, J Lovecy, Ludford, Lynch, Lyons, McHale, Midgley, Mary Monaghan, Moore, Newman, Noor, Nunney, B Priest, H Priest, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Riasat, Richards, Robinson, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, M Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, A Simcock, Stanton, Stogia, Taylor, Wheeler, Whiston, White, Wills, Wilson and Wright

Honorary Alderman of the City of Manchester – Mrs Nilofar Siddiqi

CC/20/31. The Lord Mayor's Announcements and Special Business - Welcome to Newly Elected Councillors

The Lord Mayor referred to the local elections held on 6 May 2019 and the attendance of newly elected Councillors to their first meeting of the Council and a Councillor that had been re-elected. The Lord Mayor welcomed Councillors Baker-Smith, Bano, Bayunu, Foley, Hilal, Hussain, Hutchinson, Nunney, Robinson and Connolly.

CC/20/32. The Lord Mayor's Announcements and Special Business - Constitutional and Nomination Committee - 18 May 2021

The Lord Mayor informed the Council that he had agreed to the submission of the minutes of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee held on 18 May 2021.

CC/20/33. Election of the Lord Mayor of Manchester

The Lord Mayor invited nominations for the office of Lord Mayor for the forthcoming municipal year.

Councillor Tommy Judge was nominated by Councillor Leese and seconded by Councillor Karney and the Council voted by acclamation.

The Lord Mayor declared that Councillor Tommy Judge was elected Lord Mayor of Manchester for the forthcoming municipal year.

Councillor T Judge then read aloud the Oath of Allegiance and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The City Solicitor then signed the Declaration Book as Proper Officer.

CC/20/34. Appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor

The Lord Mayor invited nominations for the office of Deputy Lord Mayor for the forthcoming municipal year.

Councillor Donna Ludford was nominated by Councillor Leese and Seconded by Councillor Karney and the Council voted by acclamation. The Lord Mayor declared that Councillor Ludford had been appointed.

Councillor Ludford read aloud the Oath of Office and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and was invested with the badge of office.

The City Solicitor then signed the Declaration Book as Proper Officer.

CC/20/35. Minutes

Decision

To agree the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 31 March 2021 as a correct record.

CC/20/36. Seniority of Councillors

Decision

The Council noted the revised list of seniority of councillors following the election held on 6 May 2021.

The seniority of the members of the Council as of 12 May 2021 is appended to these minutes.

CC/20/37. Leader of the Council

The Lord Mayor invited nominations for election as Leader of the Council. Councillor Richard Leese was proposed by Councillor Karney and seconded by Councillor Lanchbury.

After the Council voted on this, the Lord Mayor declared that Councillor Richard Leese was elected Leader of the Council.

CC/20/38. Appointment of Committees and Chairs

Councillor Karney, Chair of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee, provided the Council with further appointments and amendments to the nominations made, as follows:

Executive Standing Consultative Panel – remove Councillors S Judge and Sheikh. Environment and Climate Scrutiny Committee – appoint Councillor Flanagan Economy Scrutiny Committee – remove Councillor Jeavons

GM Transport Committee – appoint Councillor Taylor with Councillor Connolly as substitute and appoint Councillor Hassan with Councillor Farrell as substitute Greater Manchester Health Scrutiny Panel – remove Councillor Holt and appoint Councillor Butt

Greater Manchester Audit Committee – appoint Councillor Russell Manchester Port Health Authority – appoint Councillor Andrews GMCA Overview and Scrutiny Committees

- Economy, Business Growth and Skills appoint Councillor Stanton
- Housing, Planning and Environment appoint Councillor Shilton-Godwin

Decisions

- To receive the minutes of Constitutional and Nomination Committee held on 18 May 2021.
- 2. To approve the recommendations made by the Constitutional and Nomination Committee on 18 May 2021 regarding the appointment of chairs and membership of the Council's committees and Lead Members, including the amendments as stated.

CC/20/39. Appointments to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees

The Council approved the recommendations made by the Constitutional and Nomination Committee on 15 May 2019 about the Council's appointments to the Combined Authority, joint authorities and joint committees.

Decision

The Council approved the recommendations made by the Constitutional and Nomination Committee on 18 May 2019 for the Council's appointments to the Combined Authority, joint authorities and joint committees, including the amendments as stated..

CC/20/40. Dates of Council meetings

The Council considered the dates of Council meetings for the forthcoming municipal year.

Decisions

1. To agree the following dates of ordinary meetings of the Council in 2021/2022:

Wednesday 14 July 2021 Wednesday 6 October 2021 Wednesday 1 December 2021 Wednesday 2 February 2022 Friday 4 March 2022 (Budget) Wednesday 30 March 2022

2. To agree that that the Annual Meeting of the Council 2020 will be on 18 May 2022.

Seniority by Office

The Right Worshipful, The Lord Mayor
The Deputy Lord Mayor
The Leader of the Council
The Leader of the Opposition* (*There is no current opposition group)

Patrick Karney Ahmed Ali Richard Leese Luke Raikes **Basil Curley** Angeliki Stogia Eddy Newman Shaukat Ali Glynn Evans Joanna Midgley Susan Cooley Afia Kamal Paul Andrews Tina Hewitson **Bernard Priest** Donna Ludford Joanne Green Sarah Russell John Flanagan Azra Ali Sandra Collins Tom Judge June Hitchen Yasmin Dar Abid Chohan John Hacking Naeem Ul-Hassan James Wilson Andrew Simcock Rebecca Moore John Leech Mandie Shilton Godwin Rosa Battle **Emily Rowles** Sameem Ali Dzidra Noor Veronica Kirkpatrick Basat Sheikh Luthfur Rahman Paula Appleby Dave Rawson Suzannah Reeves Rabnawaz Akbar Garry Bridges Sarah Judge Suzanne Richards Julie Reid Lee-Ann labon John Farrell Tracey Rawlins Aftab Razaq Paula Sadler Matthew Strong Emma Taylor Mary Monaghan Bev Craig John Hughes Mahadi Mahamed Carmine Grimshaw Hannah Priest Shelley Lanchbury Zahra Alijah Joan Davies Chris Wills

Jill Lovecy

Ali Ilyas Annette Wright William Jeavons Sam Lynch Sean McHale Majid Dar Eve Holt Sam Wheeler Ben Clav Adele Douglas Gavin White Fias Riasat Jon-Connor Lyons Marcus Johns Tim Whiston Shazia Butt **Greg Stanton** Jade Mary Doswell Amna Saad Omar Abdullatif **Becky Chambers** Julie Connolly** (previous service 2015 -Marcia Hutchinson Debbie Hilal Rob Nunney Thomas Robinson Ekua Bayunu

Muqqadash Bano

Julia Baker Smith

Zahid Hussain

Linda Foley

Notes

Nasrin Ali

Seniority is calculated on total aggregated length of service as a member of the Council, with the exception of the member marked **.

* The seniority of these members, without previous service as councillors for Manchester, was determined by a ballot conducted by the Lord Mayor on 12 May 2021.